I chose a piece by Huang Quan entitled Rare Fowl. It was painted sometime between 907 and 960 during the age of Five Dynasties (I was unable to find a definite date on the piece).  This piece depicts 10 fowls, 2 turtles and 12 insects.  Originally created without color by Quan, It was likely created simply as a way for Quan to teach his son how to paint, but has become a very popular example of bird and flower painting (source). Quan’s paintings are so detailed and realistic that a story is told in which Quan’s paintings of six cranes on a palace wall attracted live cranes who dwelled by the wall confusing the drawings for some of their own (source). 

Bird and flower painting is a form of Chinese painting that grew most during the Song Dynasty, thanks to Huang Quan’s son Huang Jucai that made the bird and flower style the standard style of the Song court in Bianliang (source).  It originally began as a way to decorate things, such as ceramic work and used for phoenix paintings on silk during the Warring States Period but developed into a very intellectual pursuit, eventually inspiring the creation of schools that solely studied the bird and flower painting technique. 

I like the style of bird and flower paintings because I am very interested in nature and the beauty in it.  Bird and flower paintings are just one way to show the beauty in the natural world.  I particularly liked this piece because it was simple and detailed.  It is easy to imagine the actual animals because it is so detailed.  I also like how this picture shows the diversity of birds.  I took an ornithology class and as much as I didn’t exactly appreciate learning 200+ Alaskan species, it did give me an appreciation for the diversity that exists in just one species.